Pupil Transportation > Driver and Traffic Safety Education: FAQs: General Information
Description
The Driver Ed FAQs page provides answers to frequently asked questions concerning Driver Education, Boating and Traffic Safety in Alabama.
Answer
  
  
  
No learner’s license is required for students who are: enrolled in a state approved driver education program, who are driving pursuant to an instructional program, and accompanied by a certified driver education instructor. Students enrolled in a driver education course without a valid learner’s license should meet minimum health standards to operate a motor vehicle as outlined on the application of an Alabama driver license.

Driver Education Course8/4/2015 12:44 PMDo students need a learner's license in order to take Driver Education and receive behind-the-wheel instruction?
Since 1998, the SDE has offered preliminary certification courses in driver education. The prerequisite for this class is to already hold a valid Alabama Professional Educator certificate in any field. The course consists of two, 40-hour classes of basic and advanced driver education. Once an individual successfully completes these courses they can apply to have Driver and Traffic Safety added to their professional educator certificate. To do this the applicant must request a transcript to be sent to ALSDE Teacher Certification along with completing The Additional Certification in Driver and Traffic Safety form parts 1 of 2 and 2 of 2 under publications on the Teacher Certification section. A professional certificate, with a G-3 endorsement, would then be issued. The course is offered through Jacksonville State University who awards six undergraduate or graduate credit hours for the courses.
Driver Education Instructor8/4/2015 12:48 PMHow can an individual become a certified driver education instructor?
The Graduated Drivers License (GDL) law, Act No. 2002-408, became effective October 1, 2002. The law provides for certain restrictions on the issuance of drivers’ licenses for persons under 18 years of age; to provide for restrictions on the operation of motor vehicles under certain conditions; to provide for the suspension of the driver’s license of a person under age 18 who is convicted of certain serious traffic offenses or multiple traffic offenses. For a complete copy of the GDL please go the SDE Web site at www.alsde.edu, then to sections, on the pop-out menu go to pupil transportation and driver education, then click on publications.
Laws8/4/2015 12:50 PMWhat is the Graduated Drivers License Law?
Driver education is an elective class at high schools in Alabama. Schools that do not have an adequate number of students registering for driver education do not offer the course. Currently 98 percent of all school systems have driver education as a part of their high school curriculum.

Driver Education Course8/4/2015 12:46 PMIs Driver Education offered at every high school?

The Third-Party Testing program is in response to Act No. 2000-241 which allows driver education instructors to be a designated third-party testing agent of the Department of Public Safety (DPS) to administer the driving portion of the licensing exam. The SDE offers an eight-hour certification class that is taught at various sites throughout the state. Through this program, certified driver education instructors can become authorized to administer the driver license skills test. SDE will continually monitor the Third-Party programs for accuracy and reliability.

Driver Education Instructor8/4/2015 12:49 PMWhat is the Third-Party Testing program and how can a driver education instructor become certified for this program?